37 Students Inducted into National Honor Society

Kelly Krenek , Business Manager

On Tuesday, Oct. 2th, there were 37  juniors and seniors who were inducted into National Honor Society and National Technical Honor Society under the sponsorship of Melissa Avery and Cindy McKinley.

The juniors that were inducted into NHS were Mohammed Aburayan, Oluwatoni Bami-Ogunbiyi, Madelyn Chavez, Samantha Cox, Rebecca Crosman, Alison Daniels, Andrew Dawson, Taylor Denson, Michelle Ellis, Maricarmen Espinoza, Anthony Foster, Cheyenne Griffin, Darah Hampton, Konnor Hitchcock, Carley Jones, Alexis Keys, Shelby Kohler, Kelly Krenek, Brody Laney, Haley Larsen, Caleb Lorance, Anna McGaha, Danielle Nelson, Deborah Paredes, Payton Richardson, Josue Rios, Julia Robertson, and Micheal Tang. Seniors were Ashley Blevins, Anna Brown, Geraldine Ezeigwe, Shelby Griffith, Matthew Harl, Brelan Jackson, Aline Orrostieta, Morgan Samford, and Christian White.

The National Honor Society Officers of 2014, Harold Jackson, President, Alex Payne, Vice President, Sarah Feder, Secretary, Kacey Reeves, Treasurer, Morgan Isaac, Historian, and Zackarie Germany, Parliamentarian, explained the values of the Society, which include Scholarship, Character, Leadership, and Service. The ceremony was completed with the reading of the NHS pledge by Faculty Advisor Elisa Bizzell.

This was followed with the induction of National Technical Honor Society Members including Juniors Samantha Cox, Rebecca Crosman, Michelle Ellis, Cheyenne Griffin, Carley Jones, Alexis Keys, Kelly Krenek, Danielle Nelson, Josue Rios, Julia Robertson, and Seniors Leslie Bustos, Kailie Cochran, Lauranne Cooper, Kaylan Davenport, Ramiro Fernandez, Melissa Garcia, Matthew McGrath, Baylee Rudd, Afreen Syeda, and Schuyler Wages.

The NTHS values of Knowledge, Skill, Honesty, Service, Responsibility, Scholarship, Citizenship, and Leadership were read and explained by officers Matthew McGraph, President, Melissa Garcia, Vice President, Morgan Issac, Treasurer, Ramiro Fernandez, Reporter, and Jacob McGaha, Chaplain. Afterwards the students concluded their induction by reciting the National Technical Honor Society Pledge read by CTE Instructor Tony Adams, and receiving certificates from Faculty Instructor Cindy McKinley. The commemoration was completed with final remarks from Principal Lamond Dean, Chapel Hill High School Principal, in which he expressed his pride for the new members. Meetings for National Honor Society begin Tuesday  Nov. 4th.