All-State band members selected


Monica Garcia and Karla Ortiz

Band students placed in the ATSSB (Association of Texas Small School Bands) 4A All-State Band, on Monday, Jan. 18th, under the leadership of Band Director Joseph Hewitt.

Sophomore Andrew Luna earned 1st Chair Trombone and will be State-bound. Sophomore Ruben Velasco earned 1st Chair Clarinet and will also be State-bound. Senior Alyssa Laughlin earned 3rd Chair French Horn.

“It felt very good to be on the placed highly with other more talented musicians,” said Luna. “It was exciting and also nerve-racking when it came time to receiving the results.”

Luna and Velasco earned a spot to play in the All-State Band. They will perform again to receive a chair placement, June 9-12, at Melissa High School.