New members join honor societies


Caraline Otte, Academics Writer

The National Honor Society and National Technical Honor Society held their annual induction ceremony led by sponsors Melissa Avery and Jessica Otte on Monday, Nov. 2nd.

NHS officers include President Katie Grace Ibarra, Vice President Keilah Knight, Secretary Mimi Ezeigwe, Historian Kristen Rivers, and Treasurer Isaac Frayre. NHS junior inductees are Christopher Beal, Carter Binning, Brianna Crawford, Abby Freeman, Kennedy Fugate, Laci Hackett, Kristian Harris, Joshua Hermanns, Gaby Martinez, Jesus Perez Jr, Lacy Robertson, Jyovany Robles, Ruby Sandoval, Madelyn Shelton, and Alanah Wynn. Senior NHS inductees are Jayden Bagley, Marcelino Ortiz, Cristian Oviedo, and Kamryn Wages.

NTHS officers include President Katherine Adams, Vice President Keilah Knight, Secretary Katie Grace Ibarra, Treasurer Kristen Rivers, Historian Vivian Tavarez, and Sergeant at Arms Mimi Ezeigwe. Junior NTHS inductees are Beal, Binning, Alexis Budynkiewicz, Claria Contreas, Maggie Cornelio, Crawford, Freeman, Fugate, Edgar Gutierrez, Hackett, Harris, Hermanns, Alissandra Mendoza, Francis Morell, Caraline Otte, Robertson, Sandoval, Alyssa Saucedo, Shelton, and Kimberly Vasquez Perez. Senior NTHS inductees include Brady Bagwell, Hannah Clements, Lauren Combest, Taelor Crumpton, MaKenna Currey, Morgan Dover, Oviedo, and Hannah Ritchie.

“Despite these unprecedented times”, said Tavarez, “I am so excited to see what all we can accomplish this school year.”

NHS will team up with Student Senate’s traditional Shoes for Kids program by helping to provide socks for kids before the holiday season while NTHS seniors will volunteer for their annual community service project with Toys for Tots.