Seniors earn $3.5 million in scholarships


Jayden Lee, News Writer

The Senior Awards Ceremony took place on Thursday, May 17th in the Terri-Procell Bowen Theater where over $3.5 million dollars were awarded. The Top 10% were announced as they counted down to the Top 10 graduating students. Tyler Autin was announced as #10 in the class, #9 is Will Lyles, #8 Adely Zavala, and Caleb Otte as #7. Payton Wages and Sydnee Northcutt tied for #5. Kassandra Soledad is #4 while the #2 spot was a tie between co-salutatorians, Ryane Read and Karyme Renteria. Valedictorian, Anna Nguyen has the #1 spot in the graduating class of 2018.

The Community Scholarships were awarded to Lyles as the first recipient for the KTBB “Scholastic All Star Team”. The Shelton H. Riggins Scholarships were awarded to Caroline Onwuzu, Read, and Gabriella Campos. The Foundation Scholarships were awarded to Autin, Campos, Yazmine Martinez, Onwuzu, Ezra Patterson, and Micayla Robeson. The Chapel Hill Ex-Students Association awarded a scholarship to Gerardo Sandoval. The Parent Action Committee awarded Desirea Empie, Cheyanne Herring and Jonathan Luna. The Jiree Tra’von Mobley Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Tony Lugo and Sandoval. The Jackson Community Scholarship was awarded to Charles McNeal and Lizbeth Anchando. The Young Farmers Scholarship was awarded to Alexis Sanchez, who was also awarded the Educational Disbursement Scholarship. The Women’s Symphony League awarded Campos with the Music Merit Scholarship. The Heart Of Gold Annie Massenburge Scholarship was given to Marquis Massenburge. Chapel Hill Athletic Booster Club Scholarships were awarded to Cooper Daniels, Lyles, Parker Hintz, Lamaya Green, and Hannah Mayfield.

“I am very grateful for these opportunities and financial provisions”, said Lyles. “The Lord has blessed me through these scholarships.”

Also, Chapel Hill Band Booster scholarships were given to Renteria, Campos, Dakota Matthews, Luna and Autin. The CHHS International Club Scholarship was awarded to Nina Barrientos. The Chapel Hill Lions Club Scholarships were received by Jacy Harden, Benjamin Jauregui, and Delores Kimmel. The ETMC Volunteers Scholarship was awarded to Martinez. The Austin Bank Scholarship was awarded to Northcutt and Read. The Tyler Area Basketball Officials Scholarship was given to Devin Taylor. The Delta Sigma Theta Scholarships were awarded to Renteria, Karmaya Roberson, and Onwuzu (who was also received the Taco Bell Foundation and Juneteenth Associations Scholarships). The Focus Forward Scholarship was awarded to Alexis Smith, Angela Ibarra, and Daniels. The Greater Texas Foundation Grant Scholarships was awarded to CJ Faulks, Justin Herod, Jauregui, Carson Rudd, and Smith. The John and Rheba Myers Scholarships were awarded to Maria Duran and Zavala. The Cherokee County Electric Cooperative gave the Association Scholarship to Duran. The Delta Waterfowl Scholarships were awarded to Chris Jones, Onwuzu, Renteria and Herring. The Crime Stoppers Scholarship was awarded to Collin Durham.

The College and University Scholarships started off with Texas A&M University at Commerce awarding Otte with the Honors College Scholarship and Luna with a Music Scholarship. Dallas Baptist University awarded MaKayla Clements, Lyles, Northcutt, Maya Runyan, and Mallory Kea with the Academic Excellence Phi Theta Kappa and Christian Leadership Scholarships. Howard Payne University awarded Michael Perkins the Yellow Jacket Scholarship and Hannah Quackenbush the Deans Scholarship. The University of Texas at Dallas awarded Nguyen the Highest Ranking Graduate Scholarship. Kansas State University awarded Jaysia Maples the KSU Memorial and the KSU College of Agriculture Scholarships. Texas A&M University at Corpus Christi awarded Herring the Presidential Scholarship. Stephen F. Austin State University awarded Autin the Academic Excellence and School of Music Scholarships. Texas Tech University awarded Renteria the TTU K-12 and AT&T Founders Scholarships. Abilene Christian University awarded Erica Fossey the John C. Stevens Award for Academic Excellence in addition to their Wild Cat Housing Grant. Texas Women’s University gave Jayla Jones the Pioneer Award. The University of Arkansas awarded Hannah Shumake with the Alumni Legacy Scholarship and Caleb Wages with the New Arkansas Non-Resident Tuition.

The University of Granada in Spain awarded Payton Wages the SOL Abroad Program Scholarship. Tyler Junior College awarded Payton Wages, Karissa Gibson, Empie, Heather Crist, Sanchez, Michael Murphy, Ibarra, Kimmel, Destiny Tucker and Duran with scholarships. The University of Texas at Austin awarded Zavala and Aidan Wilt the University Leadership Network Scholarships. The University of Texas at San Antonio awarded Lidia Cabrera the New Student Grant. The University of Texas at Tyler awarded Murphy, Dakota Coker, Anchando, Zavala, and Renteria with scholarships. Jacob Gaddis was given the Distinguished Patriot Award and Crist was awarded the Employee Dependent Scholarship. The Patriot Scholarship was awarded to Jared Carter, Duran, and Patterson while Otte was given the Presidential Fellow Scholarship. Williams Baptist College awarded Mayfield their Softball Scholarship.

Military Scholarships were presented by Army and Navy Soldiers. The United States Army recognized Damian Rivera, Rollin Berry, Cassidi Sears, and Mirna Zolorzono with the Montgomery G.I. Bill. The United States Navy recognized Amanda Lewis and Ethan Holder with Montgomery G.I. Bills as well.

“I’m excited about the G.I. Bill”, said Sears. “It will assist me through all through college, covering everything”.

After faculty and staff voted, a surprise announcement was made by Principal Jeff Hogg as to who would be named the annual Mr. and Miss CHHS. Ryane Read received the title of Miss CHHS; however, Caleb Otte and Will Lyles tied for Mr. CHHS.

The Class of 2018 will graduate at TJC Wagstaff Gymnasium on Friday, May 25th in front of their family and friends. They will also be able to attend the Project Graduation, following the ceremony, which will be held at UTTyler’s Patriot Center.