Academic UIL competes at District


MaKayla Clements, Academic Staff Writer

UIL  academic participants competed in the District meet at Spring Hill High School Wednesday March 21, under the direction of coordinator Amanda Adair.

For Language Arts events, Abigail Robertson placed 2nd in Ready Writing. Individual winners for Spelling were Haleigh Sanders with 4th place and Caleb Otte with 2nd place while team Adely Zavala and Samantha Sibal placed first. Otte was also awarded 4th place in Editorial Writing and Sanders placed 3rd in Literary Criticism. MaKayla Clements placed 6th in Feature writing and 1st in Copy Editing.

For Social Studies Events, Dylan Mathis placed 3rd in Current Issues/Events.  Zavala placed 2nd and Abigail Robertson 4th in Social Studies.

For STEM events, Jared Carter won 1st, Alexis Sanchez won 2nd, and Chris Hedricks won 5th place in Computer Science where they also had a 1st place team with Hedricks and Juan Lopez-Santoyo. Otte placed 6th in Number Sense and Ezra Patterson placed 6th in Mathematics. Vanessa Gonzalez won 6th place in Computer Applications and Alexis Sanchez placed 5th in Accounting while Patrick Bradley placed 6th. They also had a 2nd place team with Jacob Gaddis and Lopez-Santoyo. In addition, Patterson won 2nd for Science.

For Speech/Debate Events, Jennifer Thornton placed 4th in LD.  Alexus Miley 4th, Trey Hudson 5th and Aiden Wilt placed 3rd in Prose Interpretation. Eddie Jones 4th, Keyayra Ford 5th, and Hannah Ritchie placed 6th in Poetry Interpretation. Payton Wages 1st and Jennifer Thornton Placed 3rd in Persuasive Speaking. Hope Shumake 3rd and Taylor Rasco placed 6th for Informative Speaking.

“Another outstanding showing by our students and coaches,” said Principal Jeffery Hogg. “I’m very proud of the students who have made time to represent our school at such a high level. I sincerely appreciate our coaches for the hard work and extra time to prepare our students for success in these contests.”

Regional qualifiers are Robertson, Otte, Sanders, Mathis, Zavala, Carter, Sanchez, Patterson, Zavala, Sibal, Lopez-Santoyo, and Hedricks where they will compete at A&M Commerce, on Sat April 14th.