NHS and NTHS students inducted


MaKayla Clements and Kristy McGaughey

On Thursday, November 3rd, forty-four students were inducted into the National Honor Society (NHS) and twenty-two students were inducted into National Technical Honor Society (NTHS). These students were honored to be selected into these organizations after careful thought and thorough analysis. They strive to not only achieve academic excellence, but to also improve their community.

New NHS members are: (Juniors) Keely Acker, Karen Alvarado, Lizbeth Anchondo, Tyler Autin, Gabriela Campos, MaKayla Clements, Erica Fossey, Karissa Gibson, Vanessa Gonzales, Christopher Hamilton, Meredith Herring, Angela Ibarra, Mallory Kea, Delores Kimmel, Samantha Larsen, William Lyles, Erik Ochoa, Caroline Onwuzu, Caleb Otte, Sydney Northcutt, Kristan Pinke, Ryane Reed, Karyme Renteria, Haylea Robertson, Carson Rudd, Myah Runyan, Gizelle Santiago, Hannah Shumake, Kassandra Soledad, Angela Torres Gaona, Destiny Tucker, Jonathan Wages, Noah Whitworth, Cassidy Willingham, Sarah Wilson, Adely Zavala. (Seniors) Litzy Aparicio, Kimberly Brents, Liliana Garza, Garrett Herring, Esmeralda Macias, Ekaterina Menkina, Javier Pizarro Solis, Timothy Bryce Wages.

NHS Officers 2016-17 are: President Blake Harris, Vice President Kayla Hubbard, Secretary Elizabeth Turner, Treasurer Hanna Vale, Historian Aubrey Elder.

“I feel like I have been given an opportunity to boost my ability.” stated junior inductee Angela Torres. “This honor gives me the ability to get more scholarships and to challenge myself.”

New NTHS members are: (Juniors) Lizbeth Anchondo, Tyler Autin, Gabriela Campos, MaKayla Clements, Mallory Kea, Caleb Ote, Myah Runyan, Diana Valencia, Noah Whitworth, Adely Zavala. (Seniors) Mykaela Alfred, Lizbeth Aparicio, Kylie Cagle, Paige Cobb, Taylor Deike, Isis De La Garza, Aubrey Elder, Liliana Garza Garrett Herring, Kayla Hubbard, Jamaal Johnson, Victoria McClay, April Walker.

New NTHS Officer Candidates 2016-17: Osvaldo Campos, David Doty, Eric Hamons, Blake Larsen, Chase Miller, Nick Payne, Maya Reazin.

“I have worked hard over the past four years,” said senior inductee Paige Cobb. “Joining this organization has proved that all my hard work has paid off.”

Principal Jeff Hogg concluded the ceremony with words of affirmation and how proud he is of all the students that were accepted into these organizations.