Scholarships add up to over $2,000,000


Alyna Barrientos, Staff Writer

On May 27, 2016 family and students attended The Senior Awards Ceremony. Scholarships were awarded to students from CHHS faculty, local business owners, college representatives, and area community members.

Kassidy Perry was awarded a scholarship from the Adult Protective Services Board. The Daughters of the American Revolution ‘Mary Tyler’ Chapter Young Citizens award recipient was Seth McGrath. The Delta Sigma Theta Scholarship recipient was Kendol Pitts. The Betty and Roy Erickson Scholarship was awarded to Michael Tang. Rebecca Crossman received the Partners in Arts Scholarship and State Employee Scholarship. Heaton Eye Associates awarded a scholarship to Konnor Hitchcock. The Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo Area ‘Go Texan’ Scholarship recipient was Cheyanne Griffin. Tang was named the KETK Student of the Year recipient while Allison Daniels was chosen to be a part of the KTBB “Scholastic All Star Team”. Peltier Teacher’s Scholarship recipient was Brody Laney and the Rotary Club of Tyler Youth Leadership Award went to Daniels and Leo Reyes. The Smith County Junior Livestock Show Scholarship recipient was Griffin. The Smith County Texas ‘Mary John Spence’ Scholarship recipient was Shelby Kolher. Samantha Cox received the Sons of Confederate Veterans and Jefferson Davis Leadership Award. SPORTyler issued a scholarship to Hitchcock. The Texas Student Housing Scholarships recipients were Carley Jones and Kolher. The Travellers’ W.G. “Bill” Martin Scholarship recipient was Jones. Brysien Cross was awarded the Tyler Chapter Barber Association scholarship. The Tyler Music Coterie Scholarship recipient was Crossman and Tyler-Smith County Crime Stoppers gave scholarships to Daniels, Hitchcock and Pitts. The U.S. Merit Scholarship recipient was Daniels and Unique Custom Homes awarded scholarships to Genesis Duenas, Trevor Massenburge and Mikayla Williams. The Wendy’s H.S. Heisman-Texas Winner recipient was Zach Williams and the Women’s Symphony League of Tyler Music Merit Scholarship recipient was Crossman. Woodmen Life chose Daniels to receive their scholarship. The Annie Massenburge “Heart of Gold” Scholarship recipient was grandson, Massenburge. The Chapel Hill Athletic Booster Club Scholarship recipient was Daniels and Crossman received a Chapel Hill Band Boosters Scholarship along with Lesly Sandoval and Scharla Guthrie. The Chapel Hill Ex-Students Association Scholarships recipients were Jones and Tang. Chapel Hill Lions Club Scholarships went to Cross, Gabby Galarza and Teresa Kimmel. The CHHS Business Professionals of America Scholarship recipient was Alexis Keys and the CHHS International Club Scholarship recipient was Tang. CHHS Parent Action Team Scholarships were awarded to Cox, Kohler, Afeefa Haque and Vazia Syeda. CHHS Ready Set Teach Scholarship recipients were Haque and De’Michael Mims. The CHHS Student Senate Scholarships recipients were Cox and Danielle Nelson. A Montgomery G.I. Bill Scholarship with the United States Air Force went to Tristan Cabler and while Caleb Lorance, Treyvion Taylor and Fabian Jauregui received the same through the United States Army. Athletic scholarships were announced for Henderson State University Football’s Andrew Dawson, Northwestern State University Football’s Austin Fendrick, Panola College Baseball’s Zach Walters, Tyler Junior College Football’s Eric O’Qinnn and University of Southern Mississippi Track’s Austin Railsback. Dallas Baptist University’s Christian Leadership Scholarship as well as their Honors and Ministry Scholarship both went to Anthony Foster. The Prairie View A&M University ‘Panther Promise’ recipient was Pitts. The Southern Nazarene University Achievement Scholarship recipient was Cross while the Stephen F. Austin State University Smith-Hutson Scholarship recipient was Hitchcock. The Texas A&M Commerce Honors College Scholarship recipient was Cox and the Tyler Junior College Presidential Honors Scholarships recipients were Foster, Laney, Lorance, McGrath, Mohammed Aburyan, Michelle Ellis, Maricarmen Espinoza, Haley Larsen, Peyton Richardson, Mateo Ortiz and Josue Rios. A TJC Band Scholarship went to Johnathan Herrera and the Foundation Golf Tournament Scholarship as well as the James Robert Fleet Endowed Scholarship went to Haque. The University of Texas at Tyler Achievement Scholarship recipient was Kelly Krenek and Richardson was awarded the UTTyler Distinguished Patriot Award recipient was Richardson. The West Texas A&M University Academic and Music Scholarship recipient was Crossman.

Finally, after a CHHS staff-wide vote, Samantha Cox and Michael Tang were named 2016’s “Mr. and Miss CHHS”.